Scott Shelley denies JP Kelly historic WSOPE win

The 2010 World Series of Poker Europe has appeared almost scripted up to this point. In Event #1 we had Phil Laak capturing his first WSOP bracelet; in Event #2 Jeff Lisandro picked up bracelet #5, while Willie Tann AND Chris Bjorin made back-to-back final tables; and heading into the final table of Event #3, the £1,000 No Limit Holdem tournament, last year’s winner JP Kelly was right in the thick of things –with a win Kelly would become the first player to defend a WSOP bracelet since Johnny Chan accomplished the feat in 1987 and 1988.

Kelly began the day in 3rd place on the leader-board, and everything was working out to form until heads-up play began between Kelly and the man who would end his run toward the poker record-books, Scott Shelley –Kelly would also have become the youngest three-time bracelet winner, besting Phil Ivey’s record which was set at 26. Alas, it was not meant to be for the young British poker pro and he had to settle for 2nd place.

Here are the complete final table results for Event #3 at the 2010 WSOPE:

1. Scott Shelley — ?133,857

2. J.P. Kelly — ?82,854

3. Jeppe Bisgaard — ?55,063

4. Paul Pitchford — ?40,862

5. Kaveh Payman — ?30,666

6. Mehdi Senhaji — ?23,239

7. Jack Lyman — ?17,768

8. Karim Jomeen — ?13,694

9. Nicky Katz — ?10,633

Poker News Supplied by